Comments

  1. Joe:

    Great post on a great day! I just got back from my annual participation in Jonesboro’s MLK Day “March”. I had the pleasure today of walking beside my fellow “brother of a lighter hue” Kelly Craft.

    Although I do not claim the right to judge another’s motives for participating in/not participating in the “March”, for the past few years I I do not feel the spirit of Dr. King’s message walking with us. This annual event seems more to have become a parade than a “March”. And while I have absloutely no problem with folks festively “celebrating “The Dream” partly come true (and must verbally acknowledge that I do not pretend to know what it must like to celebrate MLK Day from an African-American perspective), I do believe that “The March” itself should be punctuated with frequent renditions of “We Shall Overcome”.

    The speeches and about “The Dream”, I realize, are being made at another ceremony across town from “The March” at ASU. Such a venue is, of course, very fitting for dignified proclamations about Dr. King and his legacy. What concerns me, however, is what seems to be a disconnect between the vehicle through which progress was made toward “The Dream” during Dr. King’s day, via non-violent street confrontations, protests, and rallies, and the gentle platitudes offered up today during a time in which economic injustice and inequality are as pronounced as ever.

    As I listened to Dr. King’s words in the audio of your blogpost, I was reminded that he did not prophecy that justice (and peace) was going to come soon, only that it “some day” would surely come due to the promise of God in Jesus. It is in that truth, and only in that truth, that I find comfort today.

    Steve

    Reply
  2. Steve –

    As Shaila and I walked today in Fayetteville, we had the same conversation. We were glad to see the festivities, the celebratory mood, and the mood of freedom that permeated the event – however, we wondered what it might look like to have at least part of the walk be solemn as a reminder that 50 years ago these walks came at a great price for King Jr., and his fellow marchers.

    As for the blog post, I am always floored by King’s insistence that cosmology was on his side – “The arch of the universe is long, but it bends toward justice…” This is why we need to heed the words on Hauerwas and Yoder now, “Nonviolence goes with the grain of the universe.” and even thought it may not “work” now, it will be vindicated “some day.”

    Thanks for your thoughts Steve, as always!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

