John Mark Hicks on Osama Bin Laden & Celebrating Death

John Mark Hicks, Professor of Theology at Lipscomb University, posted the following on his facebook notes recently… thoughts????

“Got him!” The headlines fill our papers, newsrooms and social media. Osama bin Laden, the mastermind of 9-11 is dead.

What should I do? Dance? Party? Shout “U-S-A” over and over?

What should I feel? Pride? Joy? Satisfaction? Patriotic? Gratitude?

I have mixed feelings. “Justice has been done,” says our President. Maybe so. One function of government is to execute jusice. God uses governments for that purpose though not everything nations do is necessarily just.

On the other hand, the celebration, joy and partying that litters our television screens from around the nation disturb me. I could understand if peace had arrived, if the war was over. That would be something to celebrate. But that is not what happened.

In Ezekiel, God spoke into the evil of the world with justice, but yet also said “I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked” (33:11).

Joy is not what I feel. I feel sad that the cycle of violence continues, and it will continue as violence breeds violence. I don’t feel like celebrating.

I feel like praying….

praying for the victims of 9-11 as they re-live their loss today
praying for the enemies of this nation
praying for the family of Osama
praying for this nation
praying for peace
praying

Leave a Reply

