A New / Old Hymn “I Glory in Christ”

This is a song from Sandra McCracken’s latest album “In Feast or Fallow” from her latest project “New/Old Hymns”

Church, let us only glory in Christ and Christ alone. All else… ALL else is nothing but filthy rags… All else is counted as loss. ALL ELSE!

God forbid that I should glory,
save in thou redeemers cross
Counting shame for Him but honor,
Counting earthly gain but loss
All the love of God is here,
A love that casteth out all fear

God forbid that I should glory,
save in Christ my Lord alone
Him I lean on; Him I follow
Him, before the world, I own
All the love of God is here
A love that casteth out all fear

God forbid that I should glory
save in Christ the Son of God
Him who sought me Him who bought me
Him who washed me in his blood
All the love of God is here
A love that casteth out all fear

This is what Sandra says about the hymn on her website:

The text was passed along to me for this project by my friend Kevin Twit (who has a collection of rare hymnals) from a volume of Horatius Bonar’s posthumous hymns. I love it for it’s fierce statement of love that casts out all fear. It fit the record themes perfectly. The stanzas have such a natural lilt that helped the melody to come more easily. We recorded the guitar vocal first, as a simple, strummy version. After that, Derek muted the guitar altogether and created a modern, evocative sonic atmosphere for the vocal to live in.

Leave a Reply

