Facebook Beatitudes for Christians:

Blessed are those that don’t arrogantly express their feelings about God.
Blessed are those that don’t parade their happiness.
Blessed are those that don’t brag about any sort of success.
Blessed are those that don’t demand retribution or celebrate retributive justice.
Blessed are those that don’t scoff at forgiveness or mercy.
Blessed are those that don’t distract others from the kingdom life.
Blessed are those that don’t make divisive claims or support violence.
Blessed are those that don’t speak ill of their enemies.
Blessed are you when you don’t use Facebook as a platform to defeat, demean, belittle, or betray even your worst enemies (political or otherwise).

Comments

  1. Love it! Great thoughts… Nothing irks me quite like shallow, divisive facebook comments! It says a lot about who you are, and I have had to hold myself back many times from overreacting and speaking harsh words in response I would not speak in person… My favorite one is the one about distracting from the kingdom life–seems like a lot of that goes on daily… Thanks for the thoughts!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Kevin. I realize I used a “negative” sense in saying “Blessed are those that “don’t” ” But I think the point remains. I used that tense to illustrate that it would be wise to exercise some restraint on facebook (bless you for not saying some things you would never say in person!). I also tried to follow closely in principle the values of the kingdom seen in the real beatitudes. I realize that Jesus’ beatitudes aren’t rules or prescriptions and these are, but I think we need some rules when it comes to facebook and other social media (at least I do!).

    The one you said was your favorite was the one that was hardest for me to put into words. It is a play on the beatitude “Blessed are the pure in heart”.

    My favorite one was “Blessed are those that don’t brag about any sort of success.” Being affected by the economic downturn myself (family going through tough times these days) I know it’s like salt in the wound when I see my own brothers and sisters in Christ, my own church family members, bragging about a “big sale” or a “big promotion.” I saw this one last week “Got a promotion today! God is good!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

