The Story #1: Creation, Sin, and Materialism

“The Story” is a 9 month series at the Southwest Church in Jonesboro, AR. We are reading the bible through, from beginning to end, as a church family. My series “The Story” here on this blog is nothing more than my wonderings and wanderings about that journey. Hope you will join the conversation

As I read the first week of The Story with my church family, I was immediately struck by a theological question that I have trouble resolving. What was the sin in the garden?

Was it sexual? Was it some sort of power play? Was it violence? Was it envy or discontentment? What does the narrative represent?

Also, I tend to feel deeply painful when I read the garden narrative. It reminds me of how obliviously materialistic I am. I think we need a more simple and authentic vocation as the people of God, do we not? In what ways can we shed ourselves of the discontentment that marks our current lifestyle?

Comments

  1. One thing they talk a lot about at the simple way is creation. And I don’t think it’s some weird attempt to use our limited human abilities to recreate the garden scene out of society. I think it’s a way to remind themselves that God had purposes in creating, and there are limitations within the garden. Those limitations are simply that we aren’t allowed to make God’s out of ourselves. (Which is likely what the sin in the Garden was, according the Deceiver’s words.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

