Viva La Vida

I used to rule the world
Seas would rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning I sweep alone
Sweep the streets I used to own
I used to roll the dice
Feel the fear in my enemy’s eyes
Listen as the crowd would sing:
“Now the old king is dead! Long live the king!”
One minute I held the key
Next the walls were closed on me
And I discovered that my castles stand
Upon pillars of salt, pillars of sand

I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can’t explain
Once you know there was never, never an honest word
That was when I ruled the world

It was the wicked and wild wind
Blew down the doors to let me in.
Shattered windows and the sound of drums
People couldn’t believe what I’d become
Revolutionaries Wait
For my head on a silver plate
Just a puppet on a lonely string
Oh who would ever want to be king?

I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can not explain
I know Saint Peter will call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world

Hear Jerusalem bells are ringings
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can not explain
I know Saint Peter will call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world

This is a semi-recent hit by Coldplay. I love the song, but I have two questions. What does it mean? And why do people love it?

Comments

  1. I think it’s about lost love. He was in love, but she left him, and now he’s so low that it’s as if he once ruled the world but now ‘sweeps the streets he used to own.’

    Reply
  2. I think its about the Yankees Dynasty!
    And here is why..ive translated the song in the NLBT or New Living Baseball Translation

    (I used to rule the world
    Seas would rise when I gave the word
    Now in the morning I sweep alone
    Sweep the streets I used to own)

    We used to be the best
    We won every year
    Now we cant make the playoffs
    and im working a offseason job in New York

    (I used to roll the dice
    Feel the fear in my enemy’s eyes
    Listen as the crowd would sing:
    “Now the old king is dead! Long live the king!”)

    They used to buy older players and watch the other teams tremble at the names on the team.
    and the crowd would chant…The Babe is dead but we have Arod

    (One minute I held the key
    Next the walls were closed on me
    And I discovered that my castles stand
    Upon pillars of salt, pillars of sand)

    We used to be good
    Before we knew it the Sox had won two championships
    Then figured out we couldnt buy players anymore but had to build our team on the minore league system

    (It was the wicked and wild wind
    Blew down the doors to let me in.
    Shattered windows and the sound of drums
    People couldn’t believe what I’d become
    Revolutionaries Wait
    For my head on a silver plate
    Just a puppet on a lonely string
    Oh who would ever want to be king? )

    It was a crazy turn of events
    The boss steinbrenner was retiring
    The team started falling apart
    Our fans were going crazy we didnt make the playoffs
    Now even the Tampa Rays wait
    Just to play us for a win
    We bought all our championships
    Why would you ever want to win like that?

    (I Hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
    Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
    Be my mirror my sword and shield
    My missionaries in a foreign field
    For some reason I can not explain
    I know Saint Peter will call my name
    Never an honest word
    But that was when I ruled the world)

    I hear the sounds from organ ringing
    And the chants from Red Sox nation
    Be my arm my bat and glove
    And our minor league teams playing everywhere
    I cant explain
    I know our hall of famer announcer will call my #, name, and # again
    Baseball is a dirty game
    Especially when we were on top

    Thats what it means!!! I cant believe Ive havent seen it before this!!

    Reply
  3. Hahahahahahahaha! I have to say, I have never heard either of those opinions! Especially Josh’s! I think though that Josh may be on to something. While I am suspicious that the lyrics may have a deeper biblical and spiritual meaning, that doesn’t mean that Josh is wrong! After all, God hates the Yankees… doesn’t he?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

