The Bride & Her Groom

I love Tuesday lunch time! Almost every Tuesday, our staff goes to lunch together. We usually end up in some deep conversation about some theological issue.

Today, Chris was asking questions about the imagery Paul uses in Ephesians of husbands and wives to help depict Christ’s relationship to the church. What a beautiful image – Christ loving us like His very own Bride.

I know this probably doesn’t apply to what Paul was trying to show, but this is what I couldn’t get out of my head.

I love Shaila (my wife). Right or wrong, she may be, about this or that – nevertheless, I still love her. She believes in me. I believe in her. She knows I love her, and I know she loves me. We are in intimate relationship to one another – like none other of our relationships. We work together to accomplish our unified will. We have different roles within our relationship – but my roles as husband are not of some elevated status – our roles share equal value.

What can I learn about Jesus through my relationship to Shaila? A Lot!

What can you learn from the imagery Paul uses in Ephesians? Let’s hear it!

BTW>>> For those of you who know — Larry & Leslie Deal were hear today for lunch with the staff. They’re contribution to the discussion was invaluable – as usual!

Comments

  1. Hey, I enjoyed our talk today.

    I LOVE this topic. I deal with marriages all the time and Ephesians 5 rings my bell! Also 2 Corinthians 11:1-4, which feels like Hosea & Gomer when I read it.

    I don’t have time to say more. I’ll come back later.

    Reply
  2. When I do something that out of love to my wife, and she acknowledges it and responds to it; The look of respect and admiration that she looks at me with is enough to convince me that God is delighted when his people show him the admiration that he deserves. I’m assuming that his pleasure in his people is exponentially greater than my pleasure in my bride, but even if it is a small reflection of the pleasure he receives, then I know why he inhabits our praises.

    When she acknowledges and returns my love for her, it is one of the most complete and satisfied feeling i have ever felt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

