A Good Question

I have read Henri Nouwen’s book Life of the Beloved several times now. I try to focus on one little statement, phrase, paragraph, or section each day – something tangible that I can easily involve in my everday life.

Today it is this question:

As those who are chosen, blessed, broken, and given, we are called to live our lives with a deep inner joy and peace. It is the life of the Beloved, lived in a world constantly trying to convince us that the burden is on us to prove that we are worthy of being loved.
But what of the other side of it all? What of our desire to build a career, our hope for success and fame, and our dream of making a name for ourselves? Is that to be despised? Are these aspirations in opposition to the spiritual life?

Well? What do you think?

Comments

  1. No, those things aren’t in opposition to the spiritual life; they are part of the spiritual life like sex and hunger and praying.

    I mean, Satan is tempting me and God is transforming me in those desires and hopes and dreams just like everywhere else.

    Does that seem right to you?

    Reply
  2. Yes. It does. I don’t think seclusion, alienation, and reclusiveness are the answers, do you? I think we just need a worldview that has “stuff” and “things” and “positions” in their proper roles.

    Thanks Greg, for the response.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

