Misunderstandings

I hate misunderstandings. To quote my cousin Michael – “I know you’re not suppose to hate, but I hate misunderstandings. I just do. And I don’t feel bad about it.”

I found out today that I offended someone very badly about 3 or 4 weeks ago. I try so hard to say the right things to people I minister to. This time I said something that I thought was kind and caring, but they took it another way – and now they hate me.

And days like today, I hate ministry – not children’s ministry, just ministry in general – you know, the kind of ministry every Christian does. I hate it today! I am serious… I hate it.

On days like today I can identify with Derek Webb’s lyric:

“So I’m walking away from this, before I hurt someone. Cuz I’m facing enemies on both sides of the gun.”

I want to go home. My home doesn’t misunderstand me.

Comments

  1. “So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. For in just a very little while, ‘He who is coming will come and will not delay, but my righteous one will live by faith. And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him.’ But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

